TRACK BY TRACK BATTLE: The Rolling Stones, Beggars Banquet vs Sticky Fingers

It’s that time again, and we will be tackling the Rolling Stones’ Golden Period. In one corner is 1968’s Beggars Banquet, the other contains 1971’s Sticky Fingers. One largely roots based, the other harder rocking. One with Brian Jones, the other with Mick Taylor. Both contain ten tracks, both produced by Jimmy Miller, it’s time to take the gloves off.

Let’s get it on!

1. “Sympathy For The Devil” v “Brown Sugar”

The two big hits, both all-time classics that I never get sick of regardless of how much they get played. “Brown Sugar” is such a killer, sleazy rock and roll number with a career defining solo by Bobby Keys, the other is a dark, tribal track detailing the Devil in all his charm and all his villainy.

I’m going to give the edge to “Sympathy”, one of my favorite Stones cuts, definitely amongst my favorite Stones singles.

2. “No Expectations” v “Sway”

I’m giving it to the haunting solitary of “No Expectations”, what with its despair filled slide by Brian, the melancholic vocals of Mick. Don’t get me wrong, “Sway” is nothing to sneeze at either, but you have to pick one, and I’m picking “No Expectations”.

3. “Dear Doctor” v “Wild Horses”

This is pretty easy. I like “Dear Doctor” well enough, but against “Wild Horses”? That’s one of the finest Stones ballads ever, stunning track, and that’s without mentioning the Flying Burrito Brothers cover. God, I just love “Wild Horses” so much.

4. “Parachute Woman” v “Can You Hear Me Knocking?”

Man, I love “Parachute Woman” a great deal, what a dirty, stinky Delta track. But “Can You Hear Me Knocking?” is a classic rocker and then you throw in the jam at the end, yeah, I have to go with “Can You Hear Me Knocking?”

5. “Jigsaw Puzzle” v “You Gotta Move”

I love “You Gotta Move”, but “Jigsaw Puzzle” is one of my favorite Stones songs ever, so I pick that one.

We end Side One with Beggars Banquet, let’s see if it can maintain that winning streak.

6. “Street Fighting Man” v “Bitch”

Mmmmm, I gotta go with “Bitch”. Love both songs, but “Bitch” is just so nasty, and I love that little lick that comes at the end of the riff.

7. “Prodigal Son” v “I Got The Blues”

Love “Prodigal Son”, but “I Got The Blues” is pure Stax worship, and the organ solo by Billy Preston is icing on the cake.

8. “Stray Cat Blues” v “Sister Morphine”

Damn. Two Stones classics, but I go with “Stray Cat Blues”, nice and sleazy like I want my Stones.

9. “Factory Girl” v “Dead Flowers”

I really like “Factory Girl”, but this is no contest, “Dead Flowers”.

10. “Salt Of The Earth” v “Moonlight Mile”

Easy, “Moonlight Mile”. Beautiful song and another one of the Stones’ best ballads.

Sticky Fingers wins 6-4, very close battle, but what did you expect? These two albums rule.

Leave a comment